Post Reply
mdesgiw
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:45 pm

Syntax Error viewing item

Post by mdesgiw » Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:55 pm

when i try to view an article from the feed at apcsnh.com/rss/vacm.xml i get a syntax error and a line number. the page aikido is trying to bring up is http://apcsnh.com/vacm/vacm091306.php

the target web page does have a ClustrMaps bit of javascript at the end of the page. that's the only thing i can figure. the AdSense javascript near the top of the page would have too small a line # compared to the line# the error is showing, so i assume that snippet is working.

the page works fine in IE and FF, though...

any help nailing this down would be much appreciated. we are just starting to put together a feed for our client base.

thanks,
Marc

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 3029
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 12:48 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Syntax Error viewing item

Post by support » Wed Sep 20, 2006 6:06 am

mdesgiw wrote:the page works fine in IE and FF, though...

The page does indeed contain errors.

You're not being notified about it when you open the page in IE because you've probably disabled these notifications. The 2.2.3 beta release added the option to also disable these error boxes (2nd bullet point in the <i>Minor changes and bug fixes</i> section in the release notes.

mdesgiw
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:45 pm

errors reported by awasu's browser object

Post by mdesgiw » Wed Sep 20, 2006 8:58 pm

Thanks for the reply.

A suggestion:

Might it be good to have awasu's browser object *default* to not showing these browser errors?

I have not disabled error display in IE or FF, just using defaults, and the pages display without incident in both browsers.

Indeed, Awasu's default settings make it a handy tool for verifying web pages' syntax, but personally, I think feed authors (and surfers) would promote your product more if it were as lenient about error reporting as the the dafult settings in the major browsers.

Now I am wondering if your embedded browser object is IE or something else...

Thanks,
Marc

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 3029
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 12:48 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: errors reported by awasu's browser object

Post by support » Thu Sep 21, 2006 11:40 am

mdesgiw wrote:Might it be good to have awasu's browser object *default* to not showing these browser errors?

Done.

mdesgiw wrote:Now I am wondering if your embedded browser object is IE or something else...

Awasu uses MSHTML which is the same web browser engine that IE uses (although it's not IE itself).

Post Reply

Return to “Awasu - Bug Reports”