Page 1 of 1

URL Monitor question

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:18 pm
by ibnewbie
What does this error mean when I try running URL Monitor on a particular website?

<HEAD>
<META HTTP-EQUIV='Content-Type' CONTENT='text/html; charset=utf-8'>
</HEAD>
<HTML><BODY>
<P>The script caused an error:
<PRE style='margin-left:30px'>
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "MonitorURLs.py", line 158, in ?
File "MonitorURLs.py", line 146, in main
File "asyncHTML.pyo", line 18, in __init__
File "asyncHTML.pyo", line 64, in __init__
File "asyncore.pyo", line 308, in connect
File "<string>", line 1, in connect_ex
socket.gaierror: (11001, 'getaddrinfo failed')

</PRE>
</BODY></HTML>

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:38 am
by abwilson
It seems to indicate that the plugin failed to find the specified URL. If you have verified that the URL was entered correctly, what URL are you trying to monitor?

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:48 am
by ibnewbie
thanks for the message ...

Originally I was trying to use Webscraper to pull the feed from the website, but I wasn't sure what code to use (I posted my problem in a different thread).

So instead I tried using URL Monitor on the same site, but am getting an error.

This is the site:
https://lehmanus7.recruitmax.com//MAIN/ ... ategory=14

When i ran the website thru a feed validator, it basically said it wasn't valid. Again, not sure what that means, but does that matter?

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:10 am
by abwilson
No, validation doesn't matter to MonitorURLs -- it's just looking at standard Web pages to see if they've changed since the last time it looked.

I believe the "https:" (secure HTTP) is what's confusing the plugin. Firefox brings up the https page directly fine, and there is a redirection if you start with "http:" instead (which also fails in the plugin).

Sorry, but it doesn't look like MonitorURLs is a good choice for this particular URL.

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:14 am
by ibnewbie
ok, thanks for your help.

Since URL Monitor won't be able to pick up https, I guess I'll try my luck with Webscraper.

Any other suggestions on what else I should try?

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:51 am
by abwilson
As I just responded to your other post, WebScrape won't do the job either -- it's also confused by the https URL.

Sorry, but I don't know what to recommend at this stage.

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 10:22 am
by support
ibnewbie wrote:Any other suggestions on what else I should try?


If the plugins are unable to retrieve an https:// URL, you could try downloading the feed via a proxy. The plugin will use an http:// URL to access the proxy which will then download the real feed from the https:// address. There are lots of free proxies available on the net so this is definitely worth a try.

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 1:43 pm
by ibnewbie
thanks for the advice ...

but I'm not really that tech-savvy yet (trying to learn as much as possible). How does one download a feed via a proxy? I did a search on free proxies, but wasn't sure what to do from there?

Sorry for the ignorant questions, but you guys have been great help.

(p.s. that also means that webscraper could work if done via a proxy?)

Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 11:47 am
by support
ibnewbie wrote:How does one download a feed via a proxy? I did a search on free proxies, but wasn't sure what to do from there?


I had a look at some of the free proxies out there and most of them seem to insert ads into whatever they download which will cause problems for an XML feed.

It's possible to install a proxy on your own computer to handle this issue but something like that is way overkill. The best solution would probably be to drop a few electronic coins in Allan's tip jar to encourage him to update the plugins to handle SSL feeds :-)